Wednesday, March 31, 2010

vegetarian in the making

Alektorophobia is the fear of chickens.

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

seeing is better than thinking

An ostrich's eye is bigger than its brain.

Monday, March 29, 2010

thats a lot of nuts

850 peanuts go into 18 ounces of peanut butter.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

practice baby

A child they took from an orphanage and used in home economics programs at women's colleges circa 1946. They were flesh-and-blood classroom aids to serve as a trial child for housewives-in-training. This phenomenon flourished at universities until the late 60s.

Saturday, March 27, 2010

not that kind of runner

I determined today that there is nothing in me that would make me participate in a race I already paid for in the pouring rain...and oh yea, did i mention it was 40 and raining. I am NOT the poster girl for Nike's Just Do It campaign.

Friday, March 26, 2010

its as dirty as you think

A merkin is false hair for the female pudenda. The custom of wearing merkins dates from 1450 and was associated with prostitutes. It was used to disguise either pubic hair shaved off to exterminate body lice or evidence of venereal disease.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

now im scared

Phobophobia is the fear of fearing.

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

never underestimate....

the ability of anyone to be more manipulating then you could ever imagine. People are smarter than they look sometimes.

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

friends 101

There is always going to be that one person who never gives up on you. I found mine.

Monday, March 22, 2010

monday melt down

you can find comfort in the most unlikely places.

Sunday, March 21, 2010

mad hatter

hat makers used to actually go mad from breathing in the fumes from the chemicals they used.

Saturday, March 20, 2010

slacker

sleeping until noon is a waste of a day...but sometimes that is okay.

Friday, March 19, 2010

if you don't like the weather...wait a minute

when you live in kansas you can leave for work with no coat cause its 60 out then get sleeted on later that night while you load groceries into the car.

Thursday, March 18, 2010

i can't hear you

a crickets ears are on its front legs.

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

open up and say ahh...

a crocodile can't stick its tongue out.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

walk like a what?

emus and kangaroos can't walk backwards.

Monday, March 15, 2010

blow this

You can blow sugar much like one would blow glass. It's a technique used by cake decorators and its pretty freaking cool.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

speaking of testicles...

the inaugural Tour de France was held in 1903.

Saturday, March 13, 2010

of course they did

The word testimony comes from men in Roman times taking an oath before the court that they were telling the truth. To insure their statements were accurate, they swore on their testicles.

Friday, March 12, 2010

license to breed

Tonight i discovered it takes three adults to figure out how the hell to put together something they call a pack-n-play. Didn't know what these were before tonight and still couldn't tell you how to do it again.

Thursday, March 11, 2010

one hell of a ride

Edgar Allan Poe was orphaned as a child, disowned by his foster father, dismissed from the University of Virginia, courtmartialed at West Point, married his cousin when she was 13, got fired from almost every job he had, spent most of his life broke, died penniless and was buried without a tombstone.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

now you see me...

I can be gone from work for 2 hours and 15 minutes and no one notices I'm gone. I don't know if that's a good or a bad thing.

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

on the cat walk

Today i discovered that apparently i have a better fashion sense than i thought...i just need to trust my instincts better. And oh yea...a $5 skull ring is almost just as good as the $200 skull ring I have been coveting.

Monday, March 8, 2010

where there's smoke

When medieval clans wanted to dispose of unwanted folks without murdering them, they just burned their houses to the ground as a small hint...thus the phrase "to get fired."

Sunday, March 7, 2010

small and mighty

Today i learned that just because you're the biggest and baddest and cost the most money doesn't mean your the best. Oh yea...and women are still getting their firsts circa 2010.

Saturday, March 6, 2010

it remembers

Today i learned the body has way more muscle memory than I would have expected. My 5 mile run (the first after a couple months) was WAY easier than i thought it would be. 10K here I come.

Friday, March 5, 2010

groovaloos

Dinner: $13
Gas to the show: $5
Tickets to the show: $45
Getting the tickets for free and seeing some of the world's best b-boys and b-girls: Priceless

Thursday, March 4, 2010

innocent until proven guilty

today i learned how to get fingerprinted...although im not sure they would ever have a hard time proving i did it. I do only have 6 fingerprints.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

how old is your fish

Koi can live to be 60.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

hollywood politics

A producer on the Hurt Locker has been banned from the attending the Oscars because he openly campaigned against a rival film.

Monday, March 1, 2010

im a cynic...

but some people, regardless of their track record, can and will still surprise you. I love surprises.